Hate the way I am

Can’t Stand Me

This is a Pingback post for WordPress Daily Prompt “Can’t stand me”.

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

First of all, I would feel weird for both situation. If I had to choose one, it will definitely be watching myself on video.

We never really see ourselves the way people see us. In mirror, we are flipped. Mirrors are not perfectly smooth, thus our images are refracted and imperfect. In photo, our 3D image is printed on a 2D surface, our images are distorted. We feel strange looking at ourselves. Because we never really see our true self. In video, it’s definitely the same situation. We see our “flipped” image walking and talking. That will be one of the strangest things you will ever see. You might as well not recognising yourself at first sight. Seeing ourselves on video already included listening to our recorded voice as well. Provided the video has sound.

Listening to your own recording is weird for me too. Machine is not perfect either, your voice will be digitalised. Your voice won’t be your own. When I listen to myself during Skype testing call, I was shocked that I don’t recognise my own voice. I feel weird, but not that unbearable.

Seeing myself on video during highschool reunion? My god, I would dig a hole and hide myself in it…

About Royce

A person who likes to think and think a lot... I like hanging out at places that is peaceful and quiet(which helps thinking). I draw and I write blogs occasionally. Feel free to look around in my little world. You might find something you like!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

