Life is risky

Not Lemonade

Today’s daily prompt from WordPress is “When life gives you lemons… make something else. Tell us about a time you used an object or resolved a tricky situation in an unorthodox way.”

I’ve dealt with so many sticky situations before I can’t even remember most of them. However, there is one tiny incident that has a place in my memory. It was my brother.

Back to when I was 13 years old… I was minding my own business. And my brother suddenly came into my room. He was 11. Passed me a phone. I answered it. It was an adult speaking… He asked am I his father, I said yes, in doubtful manner. Then he said my son broke his son’s glasses at school. And he wanted to talk to me about it. I then realised, this is serious… Normally, I should have handed the phone to my dad and the adults do the talking and watching my brother get grounded for a week or a month. But I didn’t, he begged me for help, and I did….

Puberty hit me that quick at the time, so I lowered my voice, pretending I’m an adult as well…. not knowing what really happened. Trying to get my brother out of the situation. I asked what had happened. Turned out my brother had a fight with his classmate and they fought. My brother broke his glasses. Now his father wanted a talk. I respectfully offered a compensation to replace his son’s glasses. Surprisingly, he said it’s alright, he just wanted to let me know what “my son” had done. And hope that wouldn’t happen again. I apologised again. Then I hanged up the phone. I took a bullet for that little prick…

Of course I didn’t let my brother off the hook that easy, I warned him not to do it again or else I’m telling. He agreed, thanked me, for saving his ass. And that’s about it. Not that I’m proud of lying and deceiving. But I’m proud that I actually did something that most people wouldn’t do. I saved my brother. What he did was wrong, and perhaps I did too. But I’m not regret helping my brother out, he is my brother after all.

At that moment, I grew up, became an adult.

About Royce

A person who likes to think and think a lot... I like hanging out at places that is peaceful and quiet(which helps thinking). I draw and I write blogs occasionally. Feel free to look around in my little world. You might find something you like!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

